The different types of oily fish and their health benefits | The USA Print

The different types of oily fish and their health benefits | The USA Print

Fatty acids are key nutrients for the prevention of chronic diseases, and oily fish is one of the foods that contains between 18 and 20% of proteins of high biological value and more than 5% of abundant fats.

There are several types of oily fish, which are also called fatty fish, because they are a source of fat, abundant in polyunsaturated fatty acids. They differ from white fish, because they have only 2% of fats rich in polyunsaturated fatty acids.

One of the diets considered healthiest is the Mediterranean, precisely because of its contribution of fatty acids that help prevent chronic diseases in modern societies, indicates the National Library of Medicine.

According to fat levels, fish are classified as white or blue, for example those that usually have fat contents between 1% and 2% are considered white or lean and more than 5% blue fish.

While the fat content of blue fish is very variable and can reach up to 10% like eel, on the other hand, others such as bonito range between 2 and 5%, explains research by Spanish Consumer Organization.

Why the fats in oily fish are good for your health

Scientific studies reveal that the main source of fatty acids are fish, mollusks, crustaceans and algae, due to their high content of omega-3 fatty acids and in particular DHA and EPA or ALA, which are key to the prevention of cardiovascular diseases, colon cancer and immunological diseases.

Also Read  Antonio Mohamed refused to lead Al-Nassr and said no to Cristiano Ronaldo | The USA Print

Studies recommend consuming fish two or three times a week, adding a fatty fish once or twice each week.

Estimates of coronary risk reduction are more than 30%, this is because the consumption of oily fish helps lower blood pressure and reduces inflammation in atherosclerotic lesions, delaying their formation.

The consumption of oily fish is associated with the reduction of blood cholesterol and triglycerides, as well as the prevention of heart attacks.

Types of blue fish

When reviewing the types of blue fish we find: marlin, anchovy, tuna, bonito, mackerel, melva, dogfish, chicharro, lamprey, pomfret, swordfish, salmon and sardine. .

Eel, bream, golden bass, mullet and trout are also considered semi-fatty fish.

Among the most popular blue fish are sardines, salmon and bluefin tuna.

The sardine It can be consumed fresh grilled, roasted, pickled, fried or in sauce, it is a very versatile fish.

Grilled sardines
Photo: Shutterstock
Credit: Shutterstock

He Red tunais also known as red, left-handed, albacore, maroon, tonyiana or tomato tree when it has not reached adulthood.

Bluefin tuna is widely used in Japanese cuisine, where its belly, the belly area of ​​the tuna, is used to make sushi and the loin for sashimi.

tuna ceviche
Tuna ceviche. Photo: Shutterstock.
Credit: Shutterstock

Meanwhile he salmon, It is very versatile, since it can be consumed raw or cooked according to the preferences or recipes you wish to prepare.

The recommended amount will depend on each individual, however, the suggested amount is between 100 to 120 grams per day.

The different types of oily fish and their health benefits | The USA Print
Salmon is rich in omega-3, a fat good for the heart
Credit: Shutterstock

Keep reading:

. Eating oily fish improves cardiovascular health: proven by science

Also Read  Lisa Marie and the curse of the Presleys: deaths, sex, drugs and the King of Rock and Roll | People | The USA Print

. Women who follow the Mediterranean diet could reduce their risk of heart disease by 24% and death by 23%

. What meats are lowest in saturated fats?


#types #oily #fish #health #benefits