The calendar of the Mexican Checo Pérez for the 2023 Formula 1 season | Formula 1 | Sports| The USA Print

Followers of Sergio 'Checo' Pérez, during the last edition of the Mexican Grand Prix, on October 28, 2022.

Followers of Sergio ‘Checo’ Pérez, during the last edition of the Mexican Grand Prix, on October 28, 2022.NurPhoto (via Getty Images)

Everything is ready for the starting flag of Formula 1 2023. From March to November the tracks of the world prepare to wave the checkered banner in style, before the arrival of pilots hungry for the finish line. The Bahrain Grand Prix will be the first commitment that the Mexican Sergio ‘Checo’ Pérez will have to face in this new cycle. The goal: to win the drivers’ championship that is currently held by his teammate, the Dutchman Max Verstappen; Pérez was in third, just below that of his Monegasque counterpart Charles Leclerc, from Ferrari.

Under the support of the Red Bull team, Checo Pérez resumed the controls of his car for the scheduled appointment on March 5 in the Middle Eastern country. The Mexican was already a winner at the Bahrain International Circuit in 2020. Last year, due to mechanical failures, the Guadalajara driver was unable to finish the race.

The czechomania came to stay

2022 was a great year for the motorist from Guadalajara. To mention the most outstanding achievements: he got his first pole position in Saudi Arabia, although he finished fourth on that stage. He finished second in the GP in Australia, Emilia Romagna, Catalonia, Azerbaijan, the United Kingdom and Belgium. In the then unprecedented race in Miami, he took third place; the same modified position in Abu Dhabi and in the Mexican GP. But Pérez also tasted the first-place honeys in Monaco and Singapore that year.

Also Read  Barcelona, ​​with one less player, beat Madrid after extra time and advance to the final of the Spanish Super Cup (1-3) | Sports | The USA Print

That was not all. Hours before the 2022 Mexican Grand Prix, the Mexican driver received the National Sports Award from the National Commission for Physical Culture and Sports (Conade) for his outstanding season in Formula 1.

Grand Prix of Mexico 2023, schedules and what you need to know

Checo Pérez will once again host the long-awaited 2023 Mexican Grand Prix. A destination that has once again been part of the Formula 1 calendar since 2015. The event has earned the country more than $600,000 annually. This race has been recognized as the best F-1 World Championship event for five consecutive years. Over the years, since his return to Mexico, Formula 1 has also been a stage where parties and class controversies fit.

The Hermanos Rodríguez Autodrome will be the venue for the 2023 Mexico GP, and for a minimum of the following two years. The tickets and packages that even contemplate coexistence with the pilots have already begun to be offered on the official pages of the event. Prior to the big Sunday race, attendees will be able to attend the free practice rounds that will take place on Friday 27 and Saturday 28 October. That same Saturday, towards the afternoon, the qualifying round is scheduled in which each driver will compete against time to get the best start the next day.

On Sunday, October 29, at noon, the day begins with the parade of drivers and inspections of the circuit by the International Automobile Federation (FIA). At 2:00 p.m. the Mexican Grand Prix would begin. It will be 71 laps or 120 minutes of racing that will decide the winner of the edition agreed in the country’s capital.

Also Read  Wolverhampton sign Sarabia after paying a transfer fee of five million euros to PSG | Sports | The USA Print

Complete 2023 calendar of Checo Pérez in Formula 1

  • Bahrain Grand Prix. Bahrain International Circuit, Sakhir. March 5th.
  • Saudi Arabian Grand Prix. Jeddah Corniche Circuit, Jeddah. March, 19.
  • Australian Grand Prix. Albert Park Circuit, Melbourne. April 2.
  • Azerbaijan Grand Prix. Baku street circuit, Baku. April 30th.
  • Miami Grand Prix. Miami International Speedway, Miami Gardens. May 7th.
  • Emilia-Romagna Grand Prix. Enzo e Dino Ferrari Autodrome, Imola. May 21th.
  • Monaco Grand Prix. Circuit de Monaco, Monte Carlo. May 28.
  • Spanish Grand Prix. Circuit of Barcelona-Catalonia, Montmeló. June 4
  • Canadian Grand Prix. Circuit Gilles Villeneuve, Montreal. June 18.
  • Austrian Grand Prix. Red Bull Ring, Spielberg. July 2nd
  • British Grand Prix. Silverstone Circuit, Silverstone. July 9th.
  • Hungarian Grand Prix. Hungaroring, Mogyoród. July 23th.
  • Belgian Grand Prix. Circuit de Spa-Francorchamps, Spa. July 30.
  • Netherlands Grand Prix. Zandvoort Circuit, Zandvoort. August 27th.
  • Italian Grand Prix. Autodromo Nazionale di Monza, Monza. September 3.
  • Singapore Grand Prix. Marina Bay Street Circuit, Marina Bay. September, 17th.
  • Japan Grand Prix. Suzuka Circuit, Suzuka. 24th September.
  • Qatar Grand Prix. Losail International Circuit, Lusail. October 8th.
  • United States Grand Prix. Circuit of the Americas, Austin. October 22.
  • Mexican Grand Prix. Autodromo Hermanos Rodríguez, Mexico City. October 29th.
  • Sao Paulo Grand Prix. José Carlos Pace Racetrack, São Paulo. November 5th.
  • Las Vegas Grand Prix. Las Vegas street circuit, Las Vegas. November 18th.
  • Abu Dhabi Grand Prix. Yas Marina Circuit, Yas Island. November 26.

subscribe here to the Newsletter from EL PAÍS México and receive all the key information on current affairs in this country