Steven Spielberg, the great loser of the Oscars 2023? | The USA Print

The 'Daniels' beat Steven Spielberg at the 2023 Oscars



He had everything on his side to win what would be his third ‘statue’, but finally, Steven Spielberg has left empty in the last edition of the Oscars. ‘The Fabelmans’his autobiographical film, had five nominations, among which were the main nominations, but Daniel Kwan and Daniel Scheinertknown as the ‘Daniels’, they have not given truce to the one from Cincinnati (Ohio, USA) and they have left him without any ‘figurine’.

It doesn’t come as a surprise thatEverything at once everywhere‘ has triumphed at the 2023 Oscars, it started as a clear favorite with eleven nominations. Yes, the course of the Hollywood Academy has changed, giving a fresh air after conservatism and tradition have starred in many of its editions. A comedy, the multiverse, directors in their thirties and the first Asian woman to win the award for best leading actress.

However, it has been widely questioned that he has left the filmmaker who has been behind films as mythical as ‘Shark’ (1975), the franchise of ‘Indiana Jones’ (the first in 1981) and ‘ET the alien’ (1982), among many, without much celebration. In fact, she already had two Academy Awards thanks to the masterful ‘Schindler’s List’ (1993) and ‘Saving Private Ryan’ (1998) -in addition to the Irving Thalberg Memorial Oscar in 1987-.

Spielberg attended the most important night in the seventh art with the support of the Hollywood Foreign Press Association (which grants the Golden Globes), which awarded him with the best director and best dramatic film. did not conquerhowever, to british academywhich allowed the German ‘No news at the front‘ -has won the Oscar for best foreign film-.

The gala, as usual, had an outstanding recognition of cinema in theaters, but the first award of the night went to the giant Netflix and its ‘Pinocchio by Guillermo del Toro’.

In this way, Hollywood’s desire to innovate and surprise have put more classic cinema aside. You have chosen a film whose plot has emerged from the Internettypical of superhero movies, the metaverse. Ha refusedthus, that cinema defended by Spielbergwhich was against the ‘streaming’ platforms and assured that only in theaters can you enjoy the seventh art -yes, it did sign a contract with Apple TV+, direct competition from Netflix and HBO-.

Also Read  Every birth is a flash that pierces the darkness of the world | The USA Print

The ‘Daniels’ win Steven Spielberg

Does not double in budgetbut in front of 25 million dollars that it cost the ‘Daniels’ its jewel in the crown, that of Spielberg was around 40 million. In ticket officethe story about the multiverse, released on March 25, is already around 108 million. ‘Los Fabelmans’, which can be seen in the US since last November, does not reach 38 million.

The ‘Daniels’ beat Steven Spielberg at the 2023 OscarsEFE

The gala, as usual, had an outstanding demand for cinema in theatersbut the first award of the night went to the audiovisual giant Netflix and his ‘Pinocchio by Guillermo del Toro’, best animated film.

Of course, the director of ‘Jaws’ seems to have accepted defeat without too much grief, since the filmmaker had already expressed his liking for the ‘Daniels’ movie. Furthermore, that the actor Ke Huy Quan winning the ‘statue’ for best supporting performance has surely caused a feeling of satisfaction in him, since Spielberg discovered him in ‘Indiana Jones and the Temple of Doom’ (1984), where the actor gave life to Stopper.

[Dónde ver las películas ganadoras de los premios Oscar 2023]

Other losses of Steven Spielberg at the Oscars

It is not the first time that the filmmaker sees his triumph snatched by other directors. In 1976, the acclaimed ‘Jaws’ lost to Milos Forman’s ‘One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest’; two years later, his lost ark did it against Warren Beatty’s ‘Reds’.

Is ‘Everything at once everywhere’ really the best film of the year and did it deserve to snatch the title from Spielberg’s film?

In addition, ‘ET the alien‘did not get the award in 1983 because the Academy considered it better’Gandhi‘, by Richard Attenborough, In the most recent history of the Oscars, ‘Catch Me If You Can‘ (2002) lost to the wonderful ‘The pianist‘, by Roman Polanski, was victorious. Finally, in 2006, ‘Munich‘ she was struck down by ‘Brokeback Mountain‘, by Ang Lee.

Also Read  Anuel AA would have taken action against his ex-partner for putting false eyelashes on his son | The USA Print

In this way, the Academy has chosen to give a twist this year to their prizes but,really ‘Everything at once everywhere’ is the best film of the year and deserved to snatch the title from Spielberg’s tape?

Winners of the Oscars 2023

These are the winners of the Oscars 2023
The winners of the Oscars 2023jesus garcia