Photo: DAVID ROWLAND/AFP/Getty Images
the tournament of Roland Garros has withdrawn the points and the money obtained so far from the tennis couple Miyu Kato and Aldila Sutjiadi, disqualified on Sunday after the former involuntarily hit a ball boy with a ball.
“It was completely unintentional. As a result, I have been penalized by RG (Roland Garros) with the loss of points and prize money. Thank you for your constant support”, said the Japanese Kato in a message on Twitter, in which she also apologized to the girl.
The incident occurred in the quarterfinal duel of the women’s doubles tournament, between Kato and her partner, the Indonesian Sutjiadi, against the couple formed by the Spanish Sara Sorribes and the Czech Marie Bouzkova.
In the second set, and with the game stopped, Kato sent a ball to one of the ball boys, who was not paying attention and was hitfor which he cried a little.
Initially Kato and Sutjiadi received a warning from the chair umpire, but a supervisor decided their disqualification. At that time, Sorribes and Bouzkova were ahead 7-6(1) and 1-3.
The decision to disqualify the couple has received numerous criticisms on social networks, where Kato’s action is considered to have been entirely unintentionalsince he only wanted to pass the ball to the ball boy with a soft delivery.
The comments criticize the supervisor, the girl for bursting into tears from such a minor impact and also Sorribes and Bouzkova for drawing the chair umpire’s attention, in what they interpret as an attempt to get their rivals disqualified.