Don’t like the look of the last video you uploaded? Do you want to give your channel a new direction? There are several reasons why you may delete youtube video.
To help you, here are some tips on how to remove your video step by step or make it invisible with alternative tricks.
And if you need support for the production of your videos or their promotion on the web, quickly call on a freelance expert on Codeur.com.
Delete YouTube video in a few clicks
If you are the author of a YouTube video, you can completely delete it so that it is no longer online.
By deleting it, you prevent all Internet users from viewing it. It also disappears from YouTube’s servers and you can’t, in theory, recover it.
Here are the steps to follow for the deleting your video content.
Steps to delete a video on YouTube
For delete youtube videoyou need to follow these steps:
- Sign in to your YouTube Studio account from your smartphone or computer;
- Open the “Content” tab located in the left menu;
- Select the video you want to delete and click on the three small dots;
- Click on “Delete permanently”;
- Confirm deletion by saving your choice.
Please note that once the video is deleted, it will no longer be available on YouTube and all associated messages, comments, votes and statistics will also be deleted.
The video’s statistical data, such as watch time, will still appear in your aggregate reports, but it won’t be attributed to the video you just deleted.
Removing a video from YouTube deletes it permanently: it is not possible to recover a deleted video.
Why delete a YouTube video?
There are several reasons you might want to delete a YouTube video. This is particularly the case if:
- It contains incorrect or outdated information;
- It contains content that is inappropriate or violates YouTube’s Community Guidelines;
- It did not achieve the expected performance in terms of viewing and engagement;
- It was downloaded without the necessary permission;
- It is deprecated and replaced by an updated version;
- It conflicts with privacy laws or rules;
- It contains information that may cause damage to the reputation or interests of a person or company.
In some cases, the platform itself can make the decision to delete your youtube videoespecially if a user has decided to report it.
You will then see the message “Video removed: inappropriate content” appear next to the video you uploaded. This alert message means that your content violates the Community Guidelines.
What alternatives to deleting a YouTube video?
Surely you’ve spent hours producing your video content, so it’s a shame to delete it. Especially since all the videos you remove from the platform are permanently deleted from YouTube’s servers.
Instead of getting rid of a video that no longer really suits you, there are a few alternative options.
1. Make the video private
Instead of deleting your video, you can switch it to private mode.
This way your video will be locked and become invisible to other users. It also won’t show up on your channel or in search results, and won’t be viewable by any of your followers.
For put your YouTube video in private mode, all you have to do is click on the “Content” module located in the left menu of the dashboard of the YouTube Studio application. You then choose your video and click on “edit”. In the drop-down menu offered, you click on “Visibility” and choose the “private” mode.
All you have to do is save your choice so that your video is no longer visible.
2. Make the video unlisted
Like private video, unlisted video is invisible in YouTube and Google browser search results, Internet history, and subscriber feeds and suggestions. However, it remains accessible for people who have the link.
For modify the rights of your video and switch it to “unlisted” mode, just follow the same process as for switching to private mode.
You must first log in to the YouTube Studio platform to access the video settings. In the left menu of the dashboard, you must then select the “Content” module.
You can then check the video you want to edit, then click on the “edit” tab. A drop-down menu will then allow you to modify the “Visibility” of your video. All you have to do is choose the “unlisted” mode and then save your choice.
3. Make changes to the video
If you don’t like your video as it is, but you don’t want to delete it, you can always edit it.
It is not possible to replace a video on YouTube because each video has a unique URL. However, it is possible to edit certain parts of the video to improve it without having to delete it. You can cut parts of the content you don’t like, change the title, description and category.
You can also add maps and visuals to increase the visibility of your videos on your channel and drive traffic to your website. To do this, simply go to the “Content” module in the left menu.
If you just want to edit the title and description, you just need to hover your cursor over the video thumbnail and then click on the three vertical dots. You must then select “Edit title and description” before typing the text in the field provided.
If you want to make other modifications, you can click on the video from this same module so that the “Video details” menu opens. In particular, you can cut your video using the “Edit” menu on the left.
Don’t forget to click the “Save” button at the top right before closing to keep the new version of your video.
Our tip for deleting a YouTube video
You now know how to delete a video from youtubebut also what are the possible options if you just want to make it inaccessible.
To go further, we invite you to surround yourself with professionals who can help you in the production of video content, in graphic design, web marketing, etc. Quickly find your expert on our freelance platform Codeur.com and get your channel off the ground!
#delete #video #YouTube